Here are the answers to a few of the questions we get asked a lot.

I live outside of Chicago. Am I eligible?

Not this year. We may be able to include Chicago suburbs in the future, but for now we have to limit the awards to people who live within the city limits.

I won an award last year. Am I eligible this year?

Absolutely! We very much hope you’ll give us the opportunity to look at your garden again.

Who can enter a community garden?

Any member of a community garden may enter the garden. And actually, anyone in the community who thinks the garden should be honored may enter it. You do have to be very familiar with the garden in order to fill out the entry form properly.

When do I have to get my entry form in?

Online registration will begin on Monday, April 2. The deadline for entering online is July 7, 2018. To enter by mail, download and print out this pdf entry form. Fill it in and send it, with two photos of your garden, to the address indicated on the entry form. Mail-in entry forms must be postmarked by July 2, 2018.

Who judges the gardens?

The judges are volunteers, most of the Master Gardeners, trained by the University of Illinois Extension: Cook County. Others are veteran gardeners who are part of the horticultural community in Chicagoland.

Could I be a judge?

We are always happy to welcome volunteers, to judge gardens or to help out in other ways. If you would like to volunteer, please email us at info@chicagogardeningawards.org.

What happens if I win?

You’ll be notified by email. You’ll be invited to the CEGA awards ceremony, where you’ll receive a certificate and a metal award sign to place in your garden.